Monday

A day in the life: new semester!

I did a day in my life post last semester and I thought it would be cool to do another one for this semester. So far, this is what a Monday looks like for me!

5:00am – wake up: I grab a bowl of cereal with soy milk and a cup of coffee asap. I just hang out quietly because no one in my house is awake except for Lily. Lily and I play around for a few minutes. [Note: I seriously eat cereal for breakfast every day! Occasionally I will have a bagel + peanut butter or a bowl of oats, but I love cereal… a lot.]

5:30am gym time: I leave for the gym around 5:30 and get there around 6am. I usually do one of the following activities: run, life weights, swim, take a spin class. 6-7am workout and then drive home.

8-10:30am: I spend this time showering, eating a second breakfast + more coffee, reading my Bible, finishing last-minute school work, packing a lunch for school, and reading blogs. I’m still loving iced coffee, even in January!

I leave for school @ 10:30am and get there around 10:50am.

11:00-11:50am Spanish II: This class is scary to me. I have it 3x a week- on Monday for 50 minutes, and on Tuesday + Thursday for 1 hour and 15 minutes. I didn’t take Spanish I… I just jumped into Spanish II. We’ll see how this goes the rest of the semester ;pCute face? That is how I look in Spanish class.. confused and stuff!

11:50-12:50 lunch break: I usually pack my lunch to save some $$. My favorite sandwich is peanut butter and jelly. I also try to pack a vegetable, snacks like granola bars, and a drink.

1:00-1:50pm Fitness Theory: This class is with one of my favorite teachers and I’m going to be learning about fitness all semester. Happy.

2:00-2:50pm Creative Writing: Creative writing is interesting thus far. The teacher is really into poetry and I’m not. I’m excited to write a lot though!

3:00-4:15pm News Media Ethics: I have had this professor for 3 semesters in a row and I know how he teaches his classes. I like communications classes (that is my major), but this is a 400-level course reserved for seniors. I’m a sophomore, but I got into the class and I hope to just keep up and do my best!

4:15-6:00pm evening activities: I drive home, walk Lola, eat dinner, and start on homework that is due the next day. Lola gives me “the look” and we’re off! Walking my dog is one of my favorite activities EVER. [Note: Lola is a put bull-lab mix, adopted from a shelter and she is such a sweet dog<3]

6:00-9:00pm more homework or relaxing: If I have a lot of homework or studying to do, I’ll work on it until 8:30. If I don’t have a lot of school work I will just hang out with my family, watch TV, have a snack, or blog.

9:00-10:00pm bed time: I love going to bed early and sleeping as much as I can. Lola usually jumps up on my bed and snuggles with me as I write blog posts 🙂

*

That is a typical Monday for me (so far) in the new spring semester!

Harvest Moon Run

Howdy! Time for a race recap. I have to be brief because I have a microbiology exam in a few hours. EEK.

The race was on Saturday at 8:30 a.m. and it was about 40* outside. Brrr. The elevation and hills were crazy! (You can see the elevation chart on the race logo above.)

I did the 10 mile race with my boyfriend’s uncle and my little sister did the 5k.

Hannah is rubbing her face and I am looking to the left. Cute.

I over dressed way too much! I was so hot by the 3 mile mark that I took off my gloves, ear warmer, and unzipped my jacket. You live and learn.

Because the race was not even a mile from the Pittsburgh Airport, I had fun watching planes land and take off the whole time! I also listened to people talking because I was by myself for most of the race.

Hannah finished the 5k and got 3rd in her age group. WOOOOT!

After surfacing from a giant hill, I finished and placed 1st in my age group (4th woman overall) for the 10- miler.

Distance= 10 miles Chip time= 1:20:48 Pace= 8:05

My GPS distance= 10.21 miles time= 1:20:50 Pace= 7:55

*****

I will admit that when I signed up for the race I was mostly excited to learn that warm apple crisp would be served afterwards. SCORE. 

Jimmy came to watch and cheer us on as well… thank you Jimmy ❤

********

Off to tackle this microbiology test.. happy Monday!