A day in the life

Spend The Day With Us

It has been such a long time since I wrote a day in the life post. In fact, 2015 was the last time I shared a day in my life. Things have changed so much since then! I was working as a household manager for a busy family and was trying to go full-time with pet sitting. Lola was our only pet, too! Man do I miss her.

These days, I’m busy with real estate work, some pet sitting here and there, taking care of our pets, and caring for our sweet toddler. Life feels totally different. I thought it would be fun to bring you along for our Friday. I filmed a vlog of the day, too!

Our Day | August 21st, 2020

5:30 am I wake up and hear Jimmy feeding Niva and Malcolm. Niva was spayed on Wednesday so we have to give her medication for the next couple of weeks. I grab a mug of coffee and read my Bible at the kitchen table. Jimmy leaves for work at 6:00 and I see him off.

6:30 am Niva and Malcolm are playing and running around the house, which will wake up Sadie so I give Niva a bone to chew on and shut Malcolm in the bathroom. I make breakfast and eat quickly.

7:00 am Sadie is stirring in her crib! She sounds happy so I take a few minutes to make the bed and straighten up the house. I’ve been working on cleaning the grout near our tv stand. I used a mixture of dish soap, vinegar, water, and baking powder and scrubbed it with this and it started to look a little less dingy 😉

How to clean grout in tile

Once I go into Sadie’s room to get her, I nurse her and we read a few books and play. Afterwards, we make oatmeal together and I feed her.

9:00 am It’s a beautiful day so we head into our yard to hang out. I make another coffee and bring my prayer journal with me outside. We head up to the garden and pick some tomatoes and zucchini. I also check on the arugula I recently planted, which is growing well.

Arugula growing in pots

10:00 am Snack time! We nibble on some crackers, fruit, and have a drink. I make a marinade out of honey, mustard, garlic, and spices for chicken I want to grill for dinner. I work on cleaning up the kitchen while Sadie runs around the house. I change out the garbage, wipe down the counters, and vacuum.

11:00 am We go back outside to play a bit more.

Toddler standing at garden fence in overalls

12:00 pm We head inside and go into our basement so I can swap out our laundry. I start a fresh load, put the wet clothes in the dryer and…. Sadie fell. On her head. She had what I would call the definition of a goose egg.

She cried, but not as long or had as I thought she would. Right afterwards, I nursed her and she went down for a nap. I was so afraid she had a concussion. I kept checking on her with our baby monitor to hear if she was breathing, lol.

12:30 pm Once Sadie was down for her nap I made myself lunch and then did real estate work until she woke up.

2:30 pm Sadie woke up, I nursed her, and we read this sweet book. After reading, I folded laundry while Niva and Sadie played on our bed. Once I finished putting everything away I made Sadie a smoothie and we went to Walgreens to pick up a photo order for my mother-in-law’s birthday. I also snagged some $0.69 candy 🙂

3:30 pm Sadie helped me unload the dishwasher and then we went back outside! I worked on some learning activities with her. She did a few pages in a workbook, colored, went over animal flashcards and played with her fine motor hedgehog.

4:30 pm I started grilling the chicken I marinated earlier. Yes, our grill is still see-through, lol. I also cooked up some potatoes and made a salad. Jimmy came home with a work truck filled with concrete for more patio renovations he wanted to work on over the weekend!

Chicken, fried potatoes, and salad

5:30 pm We fed the pets, caught up on our days, and ate dinner outside. Jimmy played with Sadie and her toy trucks after dinner while I cleaned up the kitchen.

7:00 pm Jimmy, Sadie, and I walked to a local park and played for a bit. We usually walk Niva each night, but she’s on bed rest from her surgery. We also walked Sadie from the park to a creek nearby and walked along the water.

Dad and toddler walking by creek

8:00 pm We head home, Jimmy bathed Sadie, and I read her a few books and nursed her to sleep. I had a snack and plopped on the couch with Jimmy and Niva to watch this movie about Creation. I fell asleep about halfway in, but Jimmy watched the whole thing and said it was great!

10:00 pm I brush my teeth and go to bed.

Again, the vlog from that day can be found here in case you’d rather watch than read 😉

What does a typical day look like for you?

A day in the life of my mom

Hello! I usually write a “day in the life” post once a semester, and I’m going to do one soon, but I thought it would be fun to give everyone a peek into a typical Wednesday for my mom.

Here’s some background info on my mom: She’s a mother of three, works from home as the CEO of our family’s real estate business, and she’s awesome. That pretty much sums it up.

Let’s welcome my mom (Lisa) to the blog! 

111

5:45 a.m.- I have my alarm set every weekday morning during the school year for 5:45 a.m., and 4x out of the 5 day week, I wake up before my alarm even goes off. I let the dogs out, and pay a bit of attention to the cats–Felix and Lily. I get up, and the first thing I do is make coffee–coffee is a BIG part of my morning.

6:00 a.m.- I sit next to Lola and Brandy and watch out local news. Then I hear Hannah’s alarm go off, and my day truly begins :)).

112

I pack Hannah’s lunch for school, and find something for her breakfast (usually very random non-breakfast foods). I usually eat breakfast with Hannah, watching the Today show 🙂 I really enjoy hot cereals, and sometimes Allie makes me delicious overnight oatmeal.

113

7:14 a.m.- Hannah’s bus comes, and she’s off. I then make my bed, and change into workout clothes. I am currently attempting Shaun T’s T-25 DVD program. It’s awesome thus far.

114

7:30 a.m.- I workout until around 8:30. When that’s completed, I will shower and get ready for work. I then throw in a load (or 2, or 3) of laundry and fold and put away as much as I can before I begin work.

9:00 a.m.- Usually from the hours of 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. I work in our home office on various projects and bill writing/quickbooks.

115

I’m extremely blessed to be able to work from home, as we own a real estate/property management/investment company (Southbound Enterprises, LLC). My husband is a broker, and I and my son are both PA licensed real estate agents. I also do all of the quickbooks and administrative work for our company.

At the same time, I ensure laundry is continually rotated, and the dogs are fed and let out (that’s been a bit of a struggle with out little Brandy).

1:00 p.m.- I usually eat lunch, and then have errands to run for our business–bank and post office, or sometimes I need to stop into our local grocery store–where I truly spend too much time and money.

On days that Allie is not in school or not doing homework (uh–never? lol), we will try to go to Target/lunch or the mall together. It’s been super difficult lately as her senior year is kicking her bootie.

3:35 p.m.- On days Hannah has cross country (M, W & F), I leave our home to pick her up at school. On Tuesdays and Thursdays, I leave to pick her up at 2:20 p.m., and we head to the chiropractor (this has changed my life!!–no more migraines!).

116

5:00 p.m.- When we arrive home, I begin preparing dinner. We eat fairly early, and I’m typically done cleaning up by 6:15 p.m. A perk at Allie’s campus is she gets free newspapers (yes, the old fashioned style), so I try to sit for a bit and catch up on the local and national news.

7:10 p.m.- On Tuesday and Thursday evenings, Han and I have been in the habit of going to our local YMCA to get a bit of a workout in (I usually just lift). On Wednesday evenings, we attend Bible study at our church.

9:00 p.m.- We get back from Bible study. Some nights I help Hannah study for tests, or just finish up cleaning/laundry duties. Hannah and I are obsessed with a few shows–The Voice, Dancing With The Stars, and 19 Kids and Counting… so we DVR these shows and watch them in the evening, usually between 9 p.m. and 10 p.m.

10:00 p.m.- Between 10-10:30 p.m. I wash up, let the dogs out for the millionth time, and head to bed. My sleep is usually interrupted by a dog whining, itching, or my wonderful husband snoring. I just can’t sleep through sounds–I guess it’s a mother’s instinct.

So, that’s my typical day–although not all are the same, that’s it! Kinda unexciting and basic, but I wouldn’t trade my simple little life for ANYTHING or any title in a big company–I’m perfectly happy right where God has placed me.

family

Thanks for agreeing to share a day in your life, mom!

Isn’t she basically Superwoman?! I love her so much 🙂